Viewerhelp:Preferences - Privacy

From Second Life Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
KBcaution.png Important: This article has been translated. The translation was imported on Feb 17. Any changes will require re-export for incremental translation.

Manage personal information and how openly you can be contacted.

Clear History

  Deletes your travel, web and search history the next time you log in, similar to clearing your history in a web browser:
  • Clears landmarks from where you've traveled in Second Life saved in your Places - Teleport History.
  • Removes content you've downloaded in the in-Viewer browser.
Only friends and groups know I'm online

  Hides your online status to strangers, so only friends on your friends list and Residents in your groups can see if you're inworld.
Only friends and groups can call or IM me

  Restricts voice call and Instant Message contact to only friends and groups.
Switch off microphone when ending calls

  Automatically turns off your microphone after a private voice call. Otherwise, unless deliberately toggled off, you may accidentally voice chat nearby.
Accept cookies

  Cookies are bits of info stored by websites, used for a number of purposes, including personalizing content. If you have privacy concerns, reject cookies by unchecking this option.
Media Enabled   Master control for audio and video in Second Life. If you are unable to hear or view media streams, make sure this option is checked.
Allow Media Autoplay

  Starts playing a parcel's media, if any, when you enter the parcel. Otherwise, you have to play it manually from the media controls.
Logs

  You can automatically record text chat
  • Save nearby chat logs on my computer - Save text chat from nearby Residents to a file.
  • Save IM logs on my computer - Similar to the above, but applies to Instant Message conversations, including one-on-one and group chats.
  • Add timestamp - Inserts the time and date at the beginning of each line of logged chat.
  • Browse - Browse to the current location where chat logs are stored, and change if you wish.
  • Block list - Opens the list of Residents and objects you've blocked from contacting you, also available from the sidebar's People tab.
Copyright Linden Research, Inc. All rights reserved.