Sculpted Prims:Very Hacky Previewers

From Second Life Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

This relates back to Talk:Sculpted Prims

Separated by Feynt Mistral on 07/05/07


XNA Sculptpreview Tool: User:Eddy_Stryker/XNA_Sculptpreview

Sweet, Eddy. I've linked to your tool and Yumi'ss from the software guide. Elle Pollack 14:41, 5 May 2007 (PDT)
Hackito Ergo Sum. Strife's modified version -- Strife Onizuka 15:26, 6 May 2007 (PDT)

Ok, I don't know where the sculptedpreview utility people seem to be using is or if it is even publically available, but I've tried to put together a very (very) basic previewer in Java from what I know. It doesn't produce anything like quality output but at least it lets you see the shape of the prims and is a basis for the more knowledgable folks to start from. Needs Java and Java 3D. Hacky Sculpt Previewer

Sounds cool but could someone post this as a execureable .jar or somesuch? I've little desire to download/install the whole Java SDK just to run the thing, whereas most people ought to be able to run it with the JRE if it's served as such. Elle Pollack 14:05, 2 May 2007 (PDT)

I tried (i have no clue about java) and got : "SculptPreview.java:305: cannot find symbol; symbol: class ObjLoad; ObjLoad objLoad = new ObjLoad(args);" - java expert needed - --Cindy Crabgrass 16:26, 2 May 2007 (PDT)

Um, that's my fault for messing up in the rename and I'm totally baffled as to how that slipped through, as I thought I was sure to compile and run that exact version... well, it should be OK now. Yumi Murakami

Fixed that one, plus another silly error, and also a JAR version here: [1]. Remember you must have Java 3D in your JRE for it to work. Yumi Murakami

Java 3D Download is Here, it's not part of the standard Java runtime.
I'm recieving the following error: Exception in thread "main" java.lang.NoClassDefFoundError: javax/swing/filechooser/FileNameExtentionFilter (I know just enough about Java to know that it's not finding that class of it's incorrectly defined or something). Elle Pollack 20:06, 2 May 2007 (PDT)
Please also make sure you're using the latest version of the JRE, v1.6.0u1. Yumi Murakami
That would be here: http://java.com/en/download/index.jsp ? I have installed this on XP and the 3D etc, on trying to open .jar file get following error: 'Java Virtual Machine Launcher - Could not find the main class. Program will exit.' I am proabably doing something stupid but would love to get this working and have a look at my sculpties. RamessesIII Pharaoh 04:42, 4 May 2007 (PDT)
I think I ran into that one? If you're updating your JRE and installing Java3d, be sure to install the JRE first, Java3d second. If you did them in the opposite order, reinstall Java3d.
P.S.: I viewed your sculpt textures of my polygon models in that...I think the term Qarl used was "vertex vomit". This weekend I will try taming NURBS again...especialy since a little birdie told me to keep an eye on the preview grid today... Elle Pollack 10:42, 4 May 2007 (PDT)
Ooops, yeah, that would help. Still have one error appearing when run from the command line but it's non-fatal:
Java 3D ERROR : wglGetExtensionsStringARB not support ! 
The specified procedure could not be found. 
Fallback to use standard ChoosePixelFormat.
Only two feature requests I would have would be an "open another file" button in the previewer window and a light source or some sort of shading so details in a model are more visible. Elle Pollack 11:45, 3 May 2007 (PDT)
I've actually been working on them - I don't know why there isn't shading right now, because the code is modified from the .OBJ file previewer that comes with Java3D and that has shading - I'm guessing it's something to do with the Materials setting but I'm not sure. Adding the ability to texture the object is going to be essential at some point, too. As for the file change button, I did add a menu option for that, but it seems that pull down menus do not correctly overlap the 3D view (ie, the menu is drawn behind the 3D render, useful! :) ). Do any Java experts here know anything about these? Yumi Murakami
Experience tells me a lack of shading is due to forgetting to turn on the shader or adding a light (is it plugged in? Is it turned on? >) ), or else improper normals set up for all the vertices if all else is working. -- Feynt Mistral 08:58, 4 May 2007 (PDT)
I made some changes to it to make it work better. -- Strife Onizuka 14:57, 5 May 2007 (PDT)
Updated. Incorporated Strife's changes plus some improvements by myself. Moreover it's now Web Startable so you should only need to click on the link on the software guide to be automatically provided with Java, Java 3D, and the application. Well, hopefully, anyway. Yumi Murakami