Viewerhelp:3.5.0/Conversations

From Second Life Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

The Conversations window shows all your communication activity. On the left side is a list of your conversations, whether with one Resident, multiple Residents, a group, or Residents near you. When you click a conversation in the list, the right side of the Conversations window shows the contents of the selected conversation. You can participate in the selected conversation by typing into the blank bar at the bottom right of the Conversations window.

When someone types into a conversation you are not currently viewing, Second Life can notify you in different ways, which you can configure in your chat preferences.

Contents of previous conversations can be stored in the Conversation Log for you to view later.

Conversation list

The conversation list is the left side of the Conversations window. Clicking a conversation in the list displays it on the right side of the window.

Toolbar

These controls appear at the top of the conversation list.

Sort menu Sort menu

  Provides options to sort conversations by type, name, and recent activity. Additional options for sorting conversation participants by name or recent activity. You may also open chat preferences, privacy preferences, or the Conversation Log window from this menu.


Plus button Plus button

  Starts a new conversation. Choose a Resident from one of the tabs of the Choose Resident window to open a new private conversation with that Resident. You may hold Ctrl or Shift ⇧ to select more than one Resident for a multi-person conference chat.


Speak button Speak button

  Turns your microphone on and off. This button works identically to the Speak button in the main toolbar of the Second Life window.


Collapse button Collapse button

  Collapses the conversation list into a column of icons that represent each conversation. To expand the conversation list again, click .


Indicator icons

These icons appear in the conversation list and provide additional information about each conversation.

Voice chat indicator Voice chat indicator

  This icon indicates which conversation in the conversation list is currently using voice chat. You can move voice chat between conversations by selecting a conversation from the conversation list and clicking the Open Call Open Call button at the top of the Conversations window. You can only use voice chat in one conversation at a time.


Voice icon Voice icon

  Indicates voice chat activity in a conversation or from a specific Resident. Changes to when someone is speaking. You can click this icon next to a Resident's name to change their voice chat volume.


Nearby chat icon Nearby chat icon

  Indicates which of your conversations represents Nearby Chat that all nearby Residents can read and hear. You can expand and view the list of nearby Residents by clicking the arrow to the left of the icon.


Expansion arrow Expansion arrow

  Click to view all members of a group conversation. Click to collapse this view.


Selected conversation

The selected conversation is displayed on the right side of the Conversations window. This is where chat text appears for the currently selected conversation. You can send messages to the selected conversation by typing in the field at the bottom of the window and pressing Enter ↵.

Sort menu Sort menu

  Provides options to change the formatting of the selected conversation.


Add person button Add person button

  Adds a Resident to the selected conversation. Choose a Resident from one of the tabs of the Choose Resident window to add that person to the selected conversation. You may hold Ctrl or Shift ⇧ to select more than one Resident at once. You can also add people to the conversation by dragging their names from the People window onto the selected conversation.


Call button Call button

  Switches your voice connection to the selected conversation. You can only send and receive voice chat in one conversation at a time.


Close button Close button

  Leaves the selected conversation and removes it from the conversation list.


Collapse button Collapse button

  Hides the selected conversation. You can open it again by clicking the conversation in the conversation list.


Undock arrow Undock arrow

  Separates the selected conversation from the conversation list. You can re-attach the selected conversation to the conversation list by clicking the button on the selected conversation window, or by selecting the conversation in the conversation list and clicking Bring it back.


Copyright Linden Research, Inc. All rights reserved.